The Prelude to Spring

Welcome to my new blog. This post is timed with the blooming of the snowdrops. The first of many flowers I will photograph, write about and celebrate.

Snowdrop weekend in Swyncombe valley, Oxfordshire is 22nd & 23rd February. There will be teas, cakes and at 3pm a blessing of the snowdrops. I’m lucky enough to live here, so I’ve had a sneak preview already. As every year, they are stunning.

IMG_3594

snow drop

It’s more than chance I’ve chosen to raise my family in a spot that sets time aside to celebrate a wild flower. I love flowers. They make people happy and that is a very good thing.

Here is a little poem about this dainty flower by Mary Vivien

I like to think
That long ago
There fell to earth
Some flakes of snow
Which loved this cold
Grey world of ours
So much they stayed
As snowdrop flowers

Leave a Reply

