Funk up your palette

I’ve always loved playing with colour and flowers are the ultimate paint box.

 IMG_5447

Adding just one stem can lift an ordinary arrangement to something more interesting. When arranging for my own pleasure I always like to add a touch of anarchy, something that will be a little unexpected.

IMG_4771        IMG_5615

Colours that are toharmonised can lack drama & depth. The never ending joy of working with flowers, is you can add one moment, decide against it and take away again. While arranging I like to work quite quickly, I don’t tend to over think things. My mantra is “if it’s not right, it’s wrong” and if it’s not working I change it without too much further thought. Over laboured arrangements are never as successful as those that just happen.

IMG_4482

When choosing your colours I’d suggest 2 or 3  from the same section on a colour wheel and one from the opposite side. I’ve always liked Sarah Ravens recipe for flowers ” the bride, the bridesmaid & the gatecrasher” . The dark red sweet william is the gate crasher in my arrangement above.

Gate crashers are sometimes the most exciting party guests.

Leave a Reply

