Deaf Butlers & Secret Sisters

We all need to dig deep sometimes to keep going, to be creative, to stay strong and fulfill our potential. As a woman of 43 with 2 young (ish) children and a new business, I feel I’m ‘digging deep’ on a fairly regular basis. In the hope of not sounding too cookie, I thought I’d share with you Deaf Butlers & Secret Sisters

Deaf Butlers

Back in March while I was setting up Floral Circus a friend of mine told me about “Deaf Butlers”. Naturally my response was “who?” “Everyone has deaf butlers” she explained. “they are here to help you. They can’t hear you, so there is no point asking for stuff but they really do want to help you.” “Ok….” (I’m nodding now, in a kind of what you talking about way) my friend continues, “so if they see you trying to do something, they’ll do what they can to help.” So, if all you do is talk , they can’t hear so can’t help. Start doing and all of a sudden things start falling into place. I liked it, I can thank my deaf butlers for a few things of late.

The Secret Sisters are my own private gang. These are women I respect and hold close to my heart. They’ve come to me at different points in my life and now I feel I can call upon them for strength and guidance whenever I feel the need. Here they are:

Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou – Writer I first became aware of this amazing woman at art school when I read “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” and have been revisiting her poems since her death last month. Compelling, honest and very inspiring words.

Frida Kahlo

Frida Kahlo – Artist  It’s only fairly recently that I’ve become a real fan of Frida Kahlo. I suppose I needed to experience some things before I could appreciate her art. I love her dynamic approach and the conviction in her imagery. She was a whole lot of woman.

Nina Simone

Nina Simone – Singer/song writer When I was about 16 a group of us used to listen to Nina Simone all the time. We loved her and her music became the back drop to that period of my life. Now I’m all grown up (ish)  and I still love her piano playing and soulful voice.

and of course there is…….

Constance Spry

Constance Spry – Florist who I only discovered last year. Constance rocks in my world. She believed in the true power of flowers, she didn’t really “get going” as a florist until her mid 40’s and she kept trying new things and being creative.

I’d dearly love to see what would happen if I went for a drink with all of my secret gang sometime…or maybe that doesn’t bear thinking about, can you imagine.?…utter madness!

Newsletter

Leave a Reply

